top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureEmma

Pumpkin Crazy - Halloween Card

No 10 19th August 2019


Hi everyone, thanks for bearing with me with all the extra posts this week. I am now back to my usual weekly blog post for now.


Today I have an interactive card, so the post is quite long but I was wanting to explain everything as best as possible. I know there are lots of videos etc out there explaining the process but just in case you haven't seen them then I hope my explanation helps.


So here it is, I started by gathering my main pieces. I used the Lawn Fawn Reveal Wheel, Reveal Wheel Pick of The Patch Add On, Reveal Wheel Templates - Seasonal Shapes, Pick of The Patch stamp set, Pick of the Patch die set. I also used the grave stone image from My Favorite Things Fab-boo-lous Friends Stamp set and the coordinating die.



Lawn Fawn - Pick of the Patch - LadyBugCrafts

I have my card base of Neenah Solar White 110lb card stock, and a panel cut from just the Reveal Wheel Frame and one cut from the frame with the Pick of the Patch Add On, a scallop wheel and the small circle which also come in the Reveal Wheel Set, all from the Neenah Solar White.


Lawn Fawn - Reveal Wheel Die Cuts - LadyBugCrafts

I then took all of the images I wanted for the Pick of the Patch stamp set and the Fab-boo-lous stamp set and stamped them using Memento Tuxedo Black Ink on to some scraps of Neenah Solar White 110lb card stock.


Lawn Fawn - Stamped Images - LadyBugCrafts

I then took my panel with the pumpkin cut out of it and ink blended this with Broken China, Crushed Olive and Black Soot Distress Inks using my Mini Ink Blending Tool and Foams.


I wanted it to look quite dark so i went around the edges very gently with the Black Soot Distress Ink.


I also went around the edges of my card base so that it would hopefully all blend in together.


Distress inked panels - LadyBugCrafts

Next I took the scalloped die cut and ink blended this with Spiced Marmalade Distress Ink. I also took an old fence/gate die from my stash and die cut this several times from some black card stock.


Lawn Fawn - Reveal Wheel - LadyBugCrafts

Next I took the coordinating stencil from the Reveal Wheel Templates - Seasonal Shapes and using some Purple Tape I attached this to the scalloped die cut. This makes it so that you don't have to pencil the sections off and know exactly where to stamp the faces.


Pumpkin Faces - Lawn Fawn - LadyBugCrafts

I took 4 of the faces from the Pick of the Patch stamp set and stamped them on to the scalloped circle. Just make sure that you rotate the stencil as you go around or some of them will be upside down.


Lawn Fawn - Reveal Wheel - LadyBugCrafts

Next you take a small brad and place that through the large scalloped circle, then through the small circle die cut and then flatten the ends of the brad. You then place some small foam squares onto the small circle.

(sorry I forgot to get a picture of this)


I then blended some of the same Spiced Marmalade Distress Ink on the corner of some Neenah Solar white and die cut the pumpkin die from the Pick of the Patch Add On set and also the arrow from the Reveal Wheel die set.


Distress Ink - Pumpkin - LadyBugCrafts

It was here when I realised that if you don't want to colour the scallop circle and want to have a different look you could always use the centre out of the above die cut and use that on the scallop circle instead.



Pick of the Patch - LadyBugCrafts

Now comes the assembly of the card, first take off the release paper from the foam squares, you need to line the scalloped circle up with the front panel of the card. If you look for the embossed line on the outer edge of the scallop and make sure that is visible with the semi circle cut on the side of your panel. Then slide it in slightly so that it can't be seen. Holding that in place line your top panel up with your bottom panel (I find it easier to stick this to a second panel and not my card base and it also gives it more strength) and press round where the small circle is to make sure the foam squares are stuck down.


If you struggle keeping it lined up you could always flip the panel over carefully after lining it up and place a small amount of Post-It tape on the back (adhering the scallop circle to the card panel) then carefully peel this off when you are done.


I hope this is understandable, if not there are a lot of videos out there which show you how to do this. Its a lot easier than it sound.


Now you need to cover the back panel with foam squares.


Reveal Wheel Panel - LadyBugCrafts

Now lets get to colouring, this is when I started to worry, I don't have a large collection of Copic Markers and what I do have are on the brighter/lighter side. When looking at my panel I felt that my colouring would be too bright to go with the background. So I did't adhere my front panel to my base in case I needed to blend a lighter background.


I coloured all of my images and the die cut them with their coordinating dies.


Copic Colouring - LadyBugCrafts

Die Cutting - Lawn Fawn - LadyBugCrafts

After colouring I felt that the images where fine with the background so I proceeded with my original panel. I then took the release paper of all the foam squares and stuck my first panel to my backing panel.


I then took my card base and adhere some bits of the fence using the Quickie Glue Pen as this dies is very fine.


Card Panel - LadyBugCrafts

Then using a combination of Tonic Craft Tacky Glue and Foam Square I place all of my images onto my panel and I also added faces to some of the pumpkins.


Once complete I used liquid glue to stick my Reveal Wheel Panel to my card base. I also added two sentiments from the Pick of the Patch stamp set using my MISTI as I had forgotten to do this earlier.



I finished the sentiment on the inside and glued down my remaining images which I had die cut.


Inside Card - LadyBugCrafts

My card is now done, thanks for sticking through this long one!


All products which are available in my store are listed and linked below.


Thanks for reading, bye for now.


Emma


1 view0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page